Pam Jagger (Jagger RiceJagger CV December 2017) is an applied political economist in the Department of Public Policy and the Curriculum for Environment and Ecology at UNC-CH. Her broad research focus is estimating the human welfare and environmental impacts of environment and development policies and projects. She has written extensively on poverty and environment linkages, forest governance, energy poverty, and evaluating the social impacts of forest-based climate mitigation strategies. She has led major field research projects in Ethiopia, Ghana, Malawi, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. She leads the FUEL Lab at the Carolina Population Center.
Jjoepedit-photooe Pedit is an environmental engineer with the Carolina Population Center at UNC-CH. His contributions to the FUEL lab include developing sampling protocols to monitor exposure to household air pollution from cooking with biomass, training environmental monitoring field teams, and data analysis. He has supported field projects in Uganda, Malawi, Rwanda and Ghana. He makes a mean carrot cake.
Ther Aung is a postdoctoral researcher with the FUEL Lab. She has a background in environmental health, specifically in air pollution and exposure assessment. Her dissertation research at the University of British Columbia focused on evaluating the health, climate and livelihood impacts of a cookstove intervention in India. Her work at the FUEL Lab is on a National Science Foundation funded project titled “Energy Transitions and Environmental Change in Southern Africa’s Coupled Human, Terrestrial, and Atmospheric Systems”. She will support both the environmental monitoring and socioeconomic components of the project.
Ipsita Das is a PhD student in the Department of Public Policy. Her research focuses on the impacts of biomass fuels and inefficient cooking technologies on health outcomes of women and children; and identifying household- and community-level determinants of clean fuel and improved cookstoves adoption. She has been involved with FUEL lab’s projects in Malawi and Rwanda. She also has research and fieldwork experience in India, in the areas of water and sanitation, improved cookstoves, forced labor, and HIV/AIDS.
 sandeepSandeep Kandikuppa is a PhD student in the Curriculum for Environment and Ecology at UNC-CH. He is interested in human environment interactions as they relate to groundwater management and use in India. He has extensive experience as a practitioner and advocate working on common land and water governance in semi-arid regions of India.
Ryan McCord is an undergraduate student at UNC-CH majoring in Public Policy and Global Studies with a minor in African Studies. She provides broad research and proposal writing support to the FUEL Lab. She has supported projects in Malawi and Rwanda.

Antwi-Boasiako Amoah, PhD (University of Ghana) Senior Program Officer, Ghana Environmental Protection Agency

Ashley Bittner, BA (Physics) PhD student in Civil Engineering at North Carolina State University, Raleigh

Susan Caplow, PhD (CEE) Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies at University of Montevallo

Ashley Chaifetz, PhD (Public Policy) Social Science Researcher/Policy Analyst at Food and Nutrition Service, US Department of Agriculture

Anna Gallerani, BA (Economics) Peace Corps, Mchinji, Malawi

Esther Giezendanner, MPH, RD (Gillings School of Global Public Health), Pediatric Nutrition, Cook Children’s Pulmonary Clinic, Fort Worth, Texas

Laura Hamrick, BSc (Environmental Science) Office of Information Technology, University of Colorado, Boulder

Noah Kittner, BSc (Environmental Science) Ph.D. student, Energy and Resources Group at University of California, Berkeley

Pushpendra Rana, PhD (Geography, UI; Postdoctoral Researcher FUEL Lab UNC-CH)  Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Natural Resources and Environment, University of Illinois

Sam Sellers, PhD (CEE) Postdoctoral Researcher, Center for Health and the Global Environment, University of Washington, Seattle


Malawi FUEL Team: Howa Banda, Effie Bvutula, Henry Chimbiri, Chikondi Mendulo, Winnie Ngoma, and Tione Phwandaphwanda

Uganda GLASS Team: Arthur Arinaitwe, Brian Isingoma, Issa Katwesige, Shallon Kihembo, Grace Nyesiga, Paul Sserumaga, and Samson Tweheyo.